At the End of the Line

0d3088aa8677b25a83a5a8425a887727

Some months ago while standing at the end of the line after our evening Wednesday church service, I distinctly felt our Lord’s presence right behind me.    He was standing in line.. at the very end after all the people had already greeted my pastor before they left for the night.           Earlier that day while at my job, I asked Jesus to be with me and I’m always asking Him to sit with me in church.

The impression of His presence was so strong that I was in awe, and felt I was being rude to Him…. like I should be talking to Him and greeting Him or something because I KNEW He was right there.       It also struck me that our Lord WOULD be at the end of the line, as this is His nature.. to never choose the first places .. to never call attention to Himself or His Majesty, but to take the lowliest places in life.    Even   when He had gone to be baptized by John the Baptist,  He waited His turn in line… and stood behind many others getting baptized first.   When John the Baptist saw Him, he was immediately convicted and told Him, “it is I who should be baptized by YOU and yet you come to me?”      Jesus, in His calm humility, gently replied,  “suffer it to be so now, to fulfill all righteousness”

I was reminded of that as I experienced that strong sense of His presence at the end of the line.   When it was my turn to greet the pastor before leaving, I told him that I was feeling Jesus standing right there at the end of the line.   He knew I wasn’t just saying that and he was in awe..  and confirmed what I felt by saying, “that would be JUST like Jesus.. to wait His turn at the end of the line!.

This pastor has experienced lots of criticism from others in the past and is in need of our Lord’s encouragement to continue in obedience to the Lord as our pastor.   I believe this experience I had was not just for me, but also for him especially.. so that he would know that our Lord is there in church WITH him!

Shared by one of the subscribers  of Still Small Voice channel

One thought on “At the End of the Line

Leave a Reply

