A Doorkeeper in the House of Our God

12208519_828618820569376_7625183726605870508_n

 

“I would rather be a doorkeeper in the House of my God, than to dwell in the tents of wickedness “- Psalms 84:10

“Godliness and contentment are great gain” – 1 Timothy 6:6

These two verses summed up my grandfather in a nutshell. He was a simple Christian man who could be considered a “God’s nobody”… who loved Jesus with all of his heart and made our Lord a part of his every day life with his family and grandkids.    My mother even married my father a lot because she assumed he would turn out like my grandfather.   She came from a very organized religion background and found his simple, sincere prayers before the family meals refreshing and sweet.. and wanted that in her own life.

After my grandfather died in his 60’s due to a stroke, my mother had a dream with him standing outside of the church he always loved going to,  opening the door for everyone.. sort of as a “doorkeeper”.    She entered next in line and excitedly told him, ‘Mr. ___, you’re alive!!”   and he laughed that hearty laugh of his, and replied, ‘Well of COURSE I am!!”   as he continued to stand at the doorway as people entered.

Decades later, my cousin’s young daughter kept looking toward the back of the church before service was about to start., and smiled at someone invisible.    Some years later while looking at my grandmother’s family photos, upon seeing my grandfather’s photo, she remarked, “That’s the man that was standing in the back of the church, near the door smiling at me.. he was a nice man…  Noone else seemed to see him but me!”      My grandmother, was stunned and I had told her about my mother’s dream as well.   It was a great encouragement for her..  She was another simple Christian who felt shy when anyone wanted to take her photograph.  Her name was Viola… and she definitely was a shy violet 🙂    They were a perfect match made in Heaven.

Upon my grandmother’s death years prior,  my grandmother, Viola had given me my grandfather’s bible after I first accepted Jesus as my Savior.    I noticed the pages were earmarked on one specific page, with the verse underlined,  “Godliness and contentment is great gain”.     That is definitely my grandfather all the way…  a man content to serve our Lord in the little ways.. a doorkeeper in one of the houses of our Lord ♥

Incidentally, I asked our Lord for a Rhema regarding my grandfather and this blog post about him.    I prayed and blindly opened to Jesus’s recorded words to Gabrielle Bossis in “He and I”, and my eyes fell on the following:

“..Find your happiness in serving Me, even in the very smallest details.  Nothing that is for love is little.”

Gabrielle:   “Lord how can you be touched by such weak things from your weak creatures?

Jesus’s reply:   “Havnt I been your Brother?  Don’t I know human nature and the life of man on earth?”…

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

